We will miss you, Barbara

Do you know Barbara McKay? She’s a famous artist, you know. If you claimed you know arts, you should’ve know her or have been to her gallery or exhibition.

Last week, I went to her exhibition at Central Market. It was splendid!

Barbara McKay's leaflet

Barbara McKay's leaflet

The drawing that she used for the front cover is really extraordinary. Oh! I took a picture of the drawing.

One of her drawings

One of her drawing

I took a few minutes to grasp the subject of the painting. And all I can say that the painting deserved to be the theme for her exhibition this time.

Ok! Let’s go to the real thing now.

The venue

The venue

And the front look.

The exhibition

The exhibition

Well, I went there on weekdays (I think on last thursday) so obviously less people but if you go there on weekends, there will be more people. But unfortunately, her exhibition was till last friday. (that’s why i put the title like that ^_^ )

Some of her paintings

Some of her paintings

I really like her paintings but some of them, I can’t quite figure out the subject. Oh! I forgot to mention that the theme for these paintings is Kuala Lumpur. She has been in KL since January this year and put everything in her paintings within 3 weeks. And this week, she and her husband will go to Sarawak. I hope she have fun staying in Malaysia and guess what she said, she said KL is her second hometown.

People visiting her exhibition

People visiting her exhibition

Oh, did I mention that our FT Minister’s wife, Datin Nafesah was there when I went to Barbara’s exhibition. I heard that she really like Barbara’s paintings and planned to buy one. (or a few, I’m not sure) In the picture, Barbara herself explained the meaning of her paintings to Datin Nafesah.

And here are some more of the paintings.

One of her paintings

One of her paintings

One of her paintings

One of her paintings

I kinda like this one because the colour contrast that she used.

The guestbook

The guestbook

My friend and I wrote something in the guestbook, hoping that she continues showing her arts to the world.

~ by anaksenikl on November 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
